judgment_pain

Judgment for breaking lease

5 posts in this topic

I have not frequented these forums in many years. I used to be a pro and have helped many people out. It has been so long that I can't remember my username. Now I am all rusty.

I lived in VA and then obtained a job in PA then rented a house in PA. The employer suddenly decided to make the job remote and allowed me to work in Virginia. 

I decided to move back to VA and a hire a lawyer to help me negotiate breaking the lease. I wasn't so lucky. The landlord decided to take it the whole 9 yards and refuse any settlement while taking it to court. 

The landlord was granted a judgment in Pennsylvania Magisterial Court. I was rather surprised since the attorney provided evidence that repairs were not being made which is supposed to be a breach of contract in Pennsylvania. 

It is my understanding that a judgment can now be removed if it doesn't contain "x" "y" and "z". Good luck for those before me, but I am going to doubt they will miss it in my case. I also hear that Magisterial judgments don't make it to credit reports sometimes. Not holding my breath.

I guess that I am in waiting mode, but want to stay proactive. This shouldn't be too difficult since this will be my only derogatory on my credit report. I am thinking of using the part of the FCRA where credit bureaus never notify you in writing within "x" amount of days of the insertion of negative information. I used to take CRAs to the small claims over that and get them to settle outside of court.....maybe that still works if it is still law?

Maybe a preemptive motion to vacate? I don't know much about Pennsylvania Law.

Thanks for any pointers.

What does your attorney have to say?

On 5/25/2017 at 10:19 AM, Harry Seaward said:

What does your attorney have to say?

What a cliche response. If my lawyer had anything to say do you think I'd be here? Wow things have gone downhill on these forums.

On 5/24/2017 at 9:31 AM, judgment_pain said: