cause for dispute?

Anonymous

I am just beginning my journey into the wonderful world of credit repair :) ! I have a few questions...

1. I experienced a case of identity fraud about 2 years ago. I did not place a fraud alert on my CR (wasn't aware that I could) Can I use this as a basis for disputing all neg. listings that occured at that time?

2. A credit report I ran 10 months ago listed a false previous address (NJ-never even lived in the state!) How can I use this as a basis for disputes?

Thanks! I LOVE THIS SITE!!!

There is so much to this part to get you going in the right direction to cover your bases.

1. File Police Report - itemize all information showing up on all 3 credit reports which don't belong to you. Get a copy of the police report. It is ok if you don't have all the information at the start - you can always follow up as you go.

2. Contact all 3 of the CRAs - this will set you up with Free copy of your credit reports; opt-out of receiving junk mail, & activate a fraud alert.

Experian Info. Solutions, Inc.

PO Box 9530

Allen TX 75013

1-888-397-3742

www.experian.com

Equifax

PO Box 740241

Atlanta GA 30374-0241

1-800-525-6285

1-770-375-2821 fax

www.equifax.com

TransUnion

Fraud Victim Asst. Dept.

PO Box 6790

Fullerton CA 92834

1-800-680-7289

1-714-447-6034 fax

www.fvad@transunion.com

3. Contact the CRAs to dispute incorrect information contained in the credit report & ask them to provide you with the contact information of creditors which contributed the inaccurate information.

4. Contact the Creditors who contributed the incorrect information - ask for address for thier fraud department & what they need for you to provide regarding fraud dispute. They may need additional information - but be sure to include copy of the police report for their records they may need you to sign an ID Theft Affidavit.