Ronalddog

Your debt validation strategy has a flaw!!

I am a seasoned litigation paralegal and it seems that your debt validation letters will not win a judgment against a collection agency. According to the FDCPA 809(B) - you can only request validation thirty (30) after the collection agency has sent you a validation letter - thus you cannot write a validation letter and expect to sue in court.

Please prove me wrong - give me case cites of people who have sued and won.

Take a look at this in the case of Mahon v. Credit Bureau, Inc., 171 F.3d 1197.

We conclude the evidence established, without a genuine dispute of any material fact, that [**15] the Notice sent to the Mahons on September 21, 1995 was received by them shortly thereafter. They did not request verification of the debt to Dr. Bowen until June 5, 1996, almost nine months later. For their request to have been effective, it had to be made within [*1203] thirty days from the date they received the Notice from the Credit Bureau. 15 U.S.C. § 1692g(a)(3). The Mahons' tardy request for verification of the debt, therefore, did not trigger any obligation on the part of the Credit Bureau to verify the debt. Even if it did, however, the Credit Bureau, when it received the June 5, 1996 request, promptly contacted Dr. Bowen's office, verified the nature and balance of the outstanding bill, learned that monthly statements had been sent from Dr. Bowen's office to the Mahons for over two years, and established that the balance was still unpaid. The Credit Bureau then promptly conveyed this information to the Mahons, along with an itemized statement of the account. Although the Mahons did not request verification of the debt within the time provided by the statute, the Credit Bureau properly verified the debt anyway.

Therefore all the collection agency has to do is state that it sent the original verification letter to the debtor and then you will not have a right to sue.