I need HELP dealing with AAC PLEASE!!!

Anonymous

Hi,

I'm really new at this, so I'll try to make this short. In 1990 My husband and I obtained a loan with ITT Financial. In 1992 ITT was sold or went out of business (we never did find out exactly) In June of 1994 we started getting collection letters. Every time, I would write back and ask for proof that we owed them the money. After another year goes by and Household Finance claims that we owe THEM the money now. Again I ask for proof, This time I do get a copy of my original contract (WooHoo, anyone could have found it in the trash or something) I wanted real proof! Aftter 6 months or so House hold decides to sue us. Well, we were never served so we did'nt show up for court and they won a default judgement. We had that Vacated, and they attempted to sue us again in May of 1995. We asked for proof again, and mysteriously they dismissed the suit. It is now 2000, and up pops A** et Acceptance. I sent them a validation letter, and exactly one year later they sent me a summons. My question is Now what? Thanks in advance for any help. This has been a great sight.

What is the Statute of Limitations in your State? If A$$et's suit was after the date of last activity, the suit is timebarred. Vacate it.

If, in fact, A$$et sued you in 2001, were you served? If no, get it vacated.

Did you ever receive proper validation? If no, they have violated if they sued. Look for the Spears v Brennan in this site. It is mentioned in different posts and I can't remember the exact ones.

Call your county court house and see if there is a record of a judgment against you. Remember, they have to sue you in your county of residence.

You also want to go to EdCombs.com and look at their site. In one section they are asking for info on different CA's and debt buyers. A$$et is one of them. Email them with a little history and they will respond asking for more info. Give it to them.