Sign in to follow this  
Auntnana

Tiny chucnk out of EQ in court today

Had my scheduling conference with EQ today. First it started off with a compliment to me by them. Their rep and I were the only ones in the room and she asked if I was an attorney. No. In law school? Told her no and asked why. Said she'd never seen such a well prepared pleading by someone who wasn't in the field. Thank you to this board!! All the advice I got here helped me plan it all out.

Clerk came in and we were talking all nicey nice when I said all doe-eyed and innocently "By the way, I sent you my consent to a Magistrate but I never received your answer and I couldn't find where you had filed with the court either. I know the instructions that the court sent with it says it had to be submitted to the court a minimum of 10 days before this hearing. Just wondering what the deal is." :shock: (Blink, blink, sweet smile, blink, blink)

Followed by a very long silence on the part of EQ's atty, or actually their atty's assistant they sent. Then it was an all out mad shuffling of paperwok and frantic flipping through papers and a lot of "uh, uh, uh". She finally asked me if I was sure I sent it to the correct address because she didn't have a copy of it. So me being the all prepared Girl Scout whipped out a copy of the consent and a copy of the delivery confirmation receipt and printout of the details from the USPS website with the date and time. All the while still giving the innocent, blinking, doe-eyed look.