I need your expert advise

disney

I spoke with the collection agency that has my old phone bill account and I found out that it was charged off on 8/26/98 and it was given to the collection agency on 2/18/03. They sent me a settlement letter this month and I called them to see how this would report to my credit since it is not currently on my credit. The person that I spoke with said that they would not be reporting it to my credit. Could this possibly be because it is to late? Since the bill was charded off on 8/26/98 can this still come back and post to my credit report. I am new at this credit repair thing and I want to make sure that I am making the best decision. I guess my question is do I pay the bill or not? Is the seven years based on the charge off date of 8/26/98 or the CA date of 2/18/03? I am going to call them again tomorrow to make sure that I have the information correct.

All communication with a CA should be done in writing.

Believe it or not, not all CA's report to the CRA's - not only do you have to be a paying subscriber to the CRA's to report, but some must not feel the need to report all collection activity.

You have to balance how much the collection is for against what it's going to take to fight it. If a few $ will get rid of the problem, that would be the route to go. While the debt may be beyond SOL, you have to consider the utility company continuing collection activity. Is it worth the hassle to have it go to another CA that will report?

Get their statement in writing regarding them not reporting to the CRA's before making payment.