Creating a family "Partnership" to acquire Duplex

pursuit

Hi,

I am just beginning to learn about mortgages and I have a scenario and some questions for someone knowledgeable:

Duplex for sale. My father and two siblings currently live in one half of it.

My father's credit is pretty good, I think his avg score is 720. -nothing below 700. My credit still has two c/o's and three collections to remove - nothing above 580. My siblings' credit is worse than mine. Duplex is worth 240-250k, my fahter knows the owner well and has been appoached to purchase property several times. He can't do 250k because he's retired and his income to debt won't allow. I propose creating a corporation between the four of us (my dad's friend says a partnership is better) and the four of us split the down payment and the equity :) while bypassing the bad credit among us and using dad as the primary buyer in the partnership. Is any of this feasible or realistic?

Between the 4 of you you should find a lender to give you the money. I do not think it will fly for a bank to have 4 owners but 1 mortgagor. You try to offset your credit score with the building's cash flow. Try a mortgage broker or small local bank. The owner might be willing/able to take back a mortgage with the 4 four of you, with graduated payments.

A rule of thumb is that the rent should be about 1% of the value of the property. Different areas have different figures, but that is a long time general guideline.

Take 75% of the 1250 per month, and that is over 900 that you can use for additional income. Maybe that will work.

He could also qualify for a "alt-A' lender program where there is no income verified/No employment verified.

Charles

What would your father's ratios be? DU will often give an approval with ratios pushing 65% if everything else is tight, and the rental income that firstsource mentioned does not usually need to be verified with any more than the appraiser's opionion of market rent value.