Settling/threatening BK...with assets...

Hello,

My husband and I have been running a construction/development biz for about 5 years now.

We ran into some problems a year ago after living rather austerely to grow the biz. We had a contract fall through, and that pretty much did us in after holding onto 5 employees in order to get said contract.

We had a total of about $77K in CC's, some in the biz name, most in personal, but all personally guaranteed anyway. (Now about $80k w/ all the junk fees, etc)

We haven't made any payments in about 12 months.

Some of the accounts do not appear on my husband's credit report (never did, even when they were paid on time)

We own a few (mortgaged to the hilt right now) investment properties. We also happen to RENT our actual residence. However, when we refied our mortgages and placed properties in trust in 2002, the new bank never reported the mortgages on his CR. So, it looks like we have no assets (besides our 1986 car & 1991 work van, worth about $1500 total & paid for). CA's believe it when I tell them I sold house in 2002.

I am working to settle w/ perfect pay ratings right now with lots of success on the $$ amounts, but no success w/ ratings yet. I have lightly threatened to go BK to the CA's.

We are both self-employed. (w/ 1099's) We are getting some money this week that we can use to pay off (settled) debts in lump sums.

My questions are:

1-Should I bother for perfect pays from the non-reporting CC's (or CA's)? Can they come back later (after payment) and add it to CR?

2-Is it wise to threaten BK when, of course, I would never do it?

3-We have 4 cards that have since become Chase cards due to mergers. Chase has also bought the bank where we have our checking account. Do they look at our banking activity? They may be able to see our rent deposits and mortgage pmts. :oops:

Thank you in advance, this forum is wonderful!