CA never updated paid judgement. Can I sue?

calpine34

I am new to all this and needs lots of help but the first thing I 'll ask is relatively simple.

I had a debt to a CA that I couldn't pay at the time. The CA filed a judgement against me. A few months later I had the funds and paid the debt, settling the judgement in full.

Approximately 8 months later I pull my credit and the judgement is still listed as not having been paid. I contacted the CA and they said they had goofed up and not notified the court that it had been paid in full. They then sent thecourt a letter showing the debt had been paid. After that the entry was updated on my reports as a paid judgement. The CA sent me a printout showing that me the original date that I had paid them according to thier records along with a copy of the "settled" letter from the court.

My question is this: Since I paid the debt and the CA did not report that it had been satisfied for another 8 months and it was being reported to the CRA's for those 8 months as still not paid, can I sue the CA who filed the judgement for something ($) ? I could use the money to pay off a couple other smaller debts so that would be helpful, but not sure where to start.

Any help is appreciated. Also what type of dollar amount should I ask for if I can sue them?

Thanks.

Yes you could. For violating section 623 of the FCRA.

Whether you would win is another matter. The problem I see is that since they corrected their "mistake," they can claim a defense of bona-fide error and totally escape liability.

You would have to prove some serious actual damages against them for the false reporting to actually prevail on such a case. Like if what they were reporting cost you $20,000 or something. The simple $1000 statutory would be unconvincing.