An old loan has come back to haunt me.

Herbie's Girl

Hi everyone, a newbie here....

An old personal loan I defaulted on back in 1997 has come back to haunt me. The credit union I borrowed from is sending me correspondence now, trying to collect the 1200 some-odd dollars I owe them. How can they do this 8 years after the fact?

Any info would be greatly appreciated. I don't know where to go from here. Thanks!

You defaulted in 1997? If no payments have been made since the default, it is way past statute. Totally uncollectable. To avoid being nailed with "account stated," you need to send them a letter telling them the acocunt has past the Statute of Limitations and that you never want to be contacted again about it.

Doesn't matter if it was 1997 or 1998.

The Statute of Limitations in Texas is 4 across the board. If no payment has been made on the account for more than 4 years, it is beyond SoL and they cannot win a lawsuit over it.

They can TRY to sue you, but your answer to the complaint is an affirmative defense that the alleged debt is past SoL.

The limitations in Statute are there to prevent lawsuits decades after the complaint. It's designed to prevent people from being sued over stale issues where witnesses and proof may no longer be available for a defense.

Methuss: I think this is only going to get worse with the new BK laws. Imagine this - sending a dunning that reads basically "You can't claim bankruptcy anymore so pay up!"

Zombie debts and even just plain frauds claiming debt when there never was one, hoping to get someone who doesn't keep good records or will pay up to avoid confrontations.

Not sure what that has to do with SoL, Grim...

Most people are unaware of the SoL anyways and don't have a clue about this defense.