Overwhelmed

tiredofdebt

There is just so much information that I'm trying to absorb that I'm getting confused. Please don't think that I'm just posting without putting my time in to read, but all the information is just so overwhelming especially since I have been reading it for the past 6 hours. I'm a college student who is just tired of turning the other eye and would like to take steps to actively improve my situation. :-/

Here is my situation.

I have recently received two letters from Northland Group for two outstanding accounts:

1. Capital One - 1688 balance with settlement offer of 776.82

2. Arrow Financial - 1319.27 with settlement offer of 1068.61

I am in California with a SOL of 4 years so these accounts wouldn't be out of the SOL until mid june of 2006.

Should I just sweat it out until the SOL is up next year? If I do, does that do anything for me? Northland doesn't show up on my credit report, but all my accounts already show up as "C/O as bad debt". Is it too late to go to the OC and try to negotiate with them as opposed to this CA? Any tips to boost my credit score would be appreciated. I have not done anything or responded at all.

Since Cap1 is one of the most difficult to dispute I would accept their 40% offer which is quite standard with a 3rd party.

The arrow however I would dispute. I would dv both Arrow and the CRAs because I guarantee they re-aged your account by placing the DOLA or date opened as the day Arrow purchased the account. It appears to me that Northland is collecting for Arrow.

I wouldn't pay them a dime I would rather sue their asses....since it is so so so easy to do with them.

Thanks for the quick reply,

1. If I do accept the settlment offer from Northland for the Capital 1 account, will that help my credit score any? I would just like to make sure my $776.82 does something towards my future.

2. Is there anything I can do to pick my score up?