need help getting started

chadwick37

I've been doing a lot of reading but I'm not sure where to start with my situation so I would appreciate some advice.

Basically I've been running from creditors for almost 4 years and I want to stop and take care of everything. I had two credit cards, one from Bank of America and one from MBNA.

BoA account was $3,437 and was charged off 10/2001 and has been turned over to Dynamic Stratagies for collection. They list the past due amount at $6,689.

MBNA account was $6,889 and was charged off 12/2002 and has been turned over to NCO Financial for collection. They list the past due amount at $10,678.

I live in Washington state where the SoL is 3 years so BoA is past the SoL and the SoL on MBNA will be up next month. I have not contacted either of these creditors. I have the means pay off both of these creditors if they were to accept $.50 or less on the dollar. What should be my first step? What steps should I take to remove these from my credit and how do I begin to rebuild my credit?

Wait until both accounts are beyond the SOL. You then have the option to make suitable payment arrangements or simply tell them to take a hike.

The debts being beyond the SOL gives you an affirmitive defense against lawsuits. Just be sure that you are correct about the debts being beyond the SOL because if you are sued, you will have to prove the SOL has run out.

I usually suggest that consumers be pro-active rather than not but with one debt past the SOL and one nearly so, I'd sugget you do nothing until both debts are past the SOL.

At that point, their options to collect are essentially zero so, you shoudl be able to work out an attractive settlement with each and hopefully, a PFD arrangement since you also seem to be concerned with your credit reports.