6 pymts to CA (atty) w/ 4 left -they just filed a suite/why?

jlcb

I'm a newbie, hope I'm in line with things here. Household/Orchard Bank acct placed with CA (atty) Thompson Law firm in April 05. Made $100 payments to them until July (I was 10 days late on July payment). When I called to do a phone payment they advise me that account transferred to local office in Atlanta (Bridgers, Peters & Kleber) they are representing Gualt Fin LLC . I called their office six times and was sent to the paralegal's voice mail. I left msg each time. I do not have phone number for them to reach me so I have to go to a payphone to call them. Finally, I just left a msg that I was sending a money order for the July payment and August payment continuing as I was doing with the previous CA (atty). I have made 3 more payments (2 in Sept and one in Oct). I am down to a bal of $455 and will have them paid off in 3 more payments...Now I start getting junk mail advertisments from other attys that records show I have recently been sued by Gualt. Today, I called current CA (Bridgers...) and finally talk to paralegal telling me they can and did file a suit since I still have a balance. I asked why they have accepted all these payments that I have made if they were going to sue me anyway. He said the suit was sent out by a private server on Oct 26 and I will just have to see what the judge says.

I no longer live at the address he has on file (although I do get mail there/my parents house).

My mother did say several days ago a young lady came by asking for me and she told her I did not live ther any longer the lady said ok and left. I assume this may have been a server but they did not leave it with mom nor tell her what it was about. So I have no papers showing I am getting sued (only way I knew was from all the advertisements I have been getting from atty want to repr me from Gualt).