My First time here

ntlnfn

Im kind of new to this whole collection thing. I have a CA that is constantly calling my house using the old out of area on the caller ID. They also call my cell phone. I finally told them to stop calling and that I did not owe the debt. The woman I spoke with agreed to not call and only correspond by mail. So the calls stopped for a week, then she calls again and leaves a message and actually says on the recording "I know I agreed to only contact you by mail but I had not heard from you and I wanted to call you about his account..." I saved the message. Now they have started calling again on their normal two to three times a day on my home number and on my cell. I was going to send them a DV letter and see what they are sitting on as far as proof. I really feel like this is a dbet I don't owe. I have no recollection of this supposed OC. Any initial advice from the pros on the board?

First of all, if you don’t want to talk with these people (and I recommend that you don’t), don’t answer their calls at all.

Second; you have at least two options on how to handle this.

You can send a “Cease and Desist” (C&D) letter demanding they cease all contact with you. I would also say in the letter that you dispute this debt in its entirety/that it is not your debt at all. I believe you can find sample C&D letters on this and other sites

The problem with sending a C&D letter is that you leave the creditor only two options, to sue or go away…which one they will do depends on a lot of factors and probably the most important one is how much the debt is.

The second option is to dispute the debt in its entirety and demand validation which in your case will include proof that this is actually your debt, etc. Again, there are sample DV letters on this site. In the letter you can demand they never call you, especially your cell phone, and to correspond only by mail (verbal arrangements are totally worthless).