Capital One Charge-Off

mtsooner

I've got a couple of questions. I'm a newbie, but reading many of the posts about Capital One on here, I understand they are hard to work with.

If you know your credit limit was originally like $300 and on your credit report they are showing a credit limit of $866....isn't this fraud since you didn't agree to anything?!

They are also showing I owe over $1400 on this account, although as of last activity the balance was appx. $350....this seems like a majorly sever jump.

If the account is a closed account, how can they still be reporting it with current records as recently as November 2005? Isn't this fraud as well?

The last time this account had activity was June 2002. The SOL in Oklahoma where I live is I believe 3 years.

Where should I begin guys to get this removed from my CR? It seems from my perspective I have sufficient ammo against Capital One to get them to remove this account, but I wanted to run it by you guys first before I do anything.

They can still tack on interest charges and fees after the DOLA. For six months, I believe. I am having a similar problem. I wouldn't worry about the fraud of reporting the wrong limit. That doesn't hurt you. It is a point to possibly dispute on, though. Also, the account is not closed. It is charged off or at least it should be. If they are reporting it as current, then they have likely reaged your account, which is illegal. The SOL does not pertain to credit reports, it pertains to actual debt collection, so that won't help you. If, in fact, the last activity was in 2002, then you are looking at 2009 before it comes off of your report.