CA allowed to pull credit report?

spoiler

Hi,

I am a newbie and having been searching and reading for weeks. I wanted to make sure not to repeat any questions.

Almost all of them have now been answered just by searching (thanks everyone!) but I am still unsure about two things and was hopeing for some help.

Does anyone know if a Collection agency is allowed to make a hard inquiry on a credit report?

a CA who was trying to collect on a credit card account pulled a hard inquiry on my report. doesn't this look like I am asking for credit from them?

Also...I filed bankruptcy and did not reafirm my mortgage but am living in the house and am paying voluntarily. Is my mortage company allowed to report?

any advice would be apreciated! Thanks everyone this board is awsome!!

Does anyone know if a Collection agency is allowed to make a hard inquiry on a credit report?

a CA who was trying to collect on a credit card account pulled a hard inquiry on my report. doesn't this look like I am asking for credit from them?

If a CA is collecting for an OC, then the answer would be yes, they have permissible purpose to pull your report.

I don't know anything about bankruptcy so someone more knowledgable will have to help you with that question.

The Fair Credit Reporting Act (FCRA) does not talk about hard vs. soft pulls. They cover permissible purpose (PP). FCRA opinion letters go further to point out what is legal, see:

http://www.ftc.gov/os/statutes/fcra/

Is the Collection Agency (CA) trying to collect a debt that was discharged in the bankruptcy?

What type of BK did you file?

Basically weather an Original Creditor (OC) or a CA acting for an OC or a CA that has purchased a debt has a right to make a credit inquiry is determined by there reasonable legal right to review an open existing account or a charge off'ed account that they have a reasonable expectation of collecting on. An account that was BK'ed on and was nor reaffirmed is closed.