College Student Needs Advice About Her Huge Debt - Help

InHugeDebt

Hi Everyone,

This is my first time here and I just want to thank anyone in advance for your advice and input.

A little background info:

I am a 22 year old college student.

When I was 19, I used my cc's to fund an eBay business that didn't work out. I was able to pay the monthly payments until about summer of 2004. About a year ago, both my accounts went to collections (winter 04).

Earlier this year one of my internet endeavors proved successful and I incorporated.

Now, I want to take care of my debt but I want to settle for the least amount possible. Looking at my credit, you can't tell that I have a job. Im hoping this along with my age will help my situation.

1. I owe about 20k (Chase) that was sent to NES.

A couple months ago I received a letter stating they want to settle for a lesser amount.

2. I owe about 30k (Citibank) that was sent to ER Solutions in WA.

Last week I got a letter stating they can settle for 80% of the debt.

My main thing is that I really want to avoid litigation.

Where do I stand and what steps should I take to resolve my situation? Should I send them a letter saying Im an out of job college student with no assets?

Also, how good are debt settlement companies like debtsettlementusa.com and creditsolutions.com?

I'd honestly rather pay someone to take care of this for me than risk messing up any of the steps doing it myself.

Any advice will help this young un. :?

The bad news:

Both Chase and especially CitiSkank will sue. Likely in the kangaroo court known as Arbitration where a finding for the creditor is a gimme. Then go to regular court to enforce the arbitration.

Settling for a lesser amount could lead to further collections for the remainder, so any offer to settle must include language which will prohibit reselling the remainder of the debt to a JDB who will attempt to collect that.