how do you get paid negatives off CR

curlysu

I am new to this, so any help is appreciated.

I am having a really hard time getting my paid negatives off my credit report. Does anyone know how to do this? I have mailed a letter requesting validation from the collection company. none replyed except for one. I called them and asked for it to be removed. They refused.

I would like to get them off, they are all paid, this would clean up my credit.

yes and the companies verified it they said. So now I mailed the letters and didn't hear back except with the one company.

I called that company and explained my ex-husband's name was on there and I didn't know about it until it was on my credit report. They refused to take it off.

The other 3 never replied. I have disputed that with the CR and sent them the tracking number. I haven't heard back yet.

My first suggestion would be to read through the Debt Validation and Collections forum and also this forum as well.

Yeah, it is a pain but it is loaded with so many posts and threads with situations that are probably very similar to yours. It will take a lot of time and patience. Back in the day, I spent hours sifting through them and I learned a lot, especially since EVERY situation is different...

Verification by the CRAs doesn’t really mean anything. All a CRA does is simply ask their subscriber if the information of this trade line is correct. And guess what, the subscriber says yes because they were the ones that put it there.

There is no real investigation that goes on regardless of what the CRAs say.

To get such credit items removed, you then have to try to catch the CRA or the collector in a violation. And if they maintain sloppy records, then it is actually pretty easy to catch them in one. I have gotten my negative items removed in this fashion (even a paid collection item that was five years old).