Help on responding to TU letter of Frivolous disputes

Hey all, I am very new to this but I'm trying to work on my credit and my wifes. This is going to be a work in progress.

I pulled all 3 Credit Bureaus on 11-30-05 and immediately disputed mine for all 3 on 12-01 and my wifes on 12-5.

I just received a letter from TU on my wifes stating that their records show that 2 of the listed creditors (1 is a collections agency & other is public tax lien of file with state of Kentucky) was previously verified as accurate and under the FCRA, they considered the dispute frivolous and will not reinvestigate the items unless you can provide court papers or a recent, authentic letter from the creditor that explains what information should be updated. They went on to say if I disagreed with the disputes, to add a consumer statement.

What can I do to get TU to reinvestigate and further, try to get them deleted? Any help would be awesome.

Bill in Florida

Calling the CRA on the phone works for me. Remember that when you do this by CMRRR, the CRA assumes you are doing it to build a paper trail to sue THEM, and is going to "circle the wagons" so to speak. I have always had luck by using the CRA as a partner instead of an adversary.

I just received a letter from TU on my wifes stating that their records show that 2 of the listed creditors (1 is a collections agency & other is public tax lien of file with state of Kentucky) was previously verified as accurate and under the FCRA, they considered the dispute frivolous and will not reinvestigate the items unless you can provide court papers or a recent, authentic letter from the creditor that explains what information should be updated.

I have actually have had a similar situation. One paid tax lien and a paid collection account. And I got both of them deleted from all three CRAs.

Once I got the frivilous letter, I gave them additional supporting documentation.