Help! Discover won't talke to me

doubletrouble

Hello all,

I am new to credit card debt so I need all the help I can get. Please please please, thank you!!!

Here's the deal.

I have several credit cards, in the past several months, all have become behind in payment. I am trying to talk to each one for a lowered monthly payment and reduced interest rate. Recently, I started talking to Discover. (My last payment to Discover was September of 2005 with a balance of $16,000.00). A month ago, Discover would be willing to reduce my interest rate to 1.99% and lower my monthly payment to $300. I did not have the money at the time so I didn't take up on that offer. Now, I wanted to take up that offer but another Discover rep won't let me into that offer because they claim that they need proof of income from me. They require me to have a full time job and stuff. I told them that I do work more than 40 hours per week but it's all part-time jobs. They then wanted me to start paying them something, anything, for at least 3 months to show them a pattern of consistent payment before they would be willing to let me into some kind of hardship plan. I don't know if this is just a trick that they are duping me into in order to delay/reset the chargeoff date by making me make a payment on this account so to drage this longer and they can charge me more usury interest. Or is what they say have some truth to it? I am broke but am willing to try to pay them back. But at 27+ percent interest with a balance of over 16k I just don't see that happening if I made a payment of $200-$300 a month for the rest of my life. But now they withdrew the $300/month with a rate of 1.99% which I think would allow me to pay them off in about 5-7 years. Now I don't know what to do. Should I start paying them or should I wait for it to chargeoff? Thank you so much for any help and advice that you can give a person in trouble.