$59K in debt. Need advise.

jnw2122

Hi. I'm new here, so please bear with me if these questions have been asked before.

I work in the construction industry and lately I can only manage making the minimum dues on each card and even balance transfered, in order to make payments on rent. I have never been late on my payment, yet. The construction industry is looking to slow down in the near future and I fear that I will not be able to make payments.

I am considering bankruptcy, but I am as well looking at other alternatives. From what I've read, DMP is not recommended, so I'm looking at Debt Settlement through an agency or doing it my own. Or if you think that bankruptcy is a better option, please tell me.

I understand that my credit report/score is going to be pretty ugly, and I understand that I will be able to build my credit back once I settle these accounts. I do not have any asset. I am still paying for a truck and I only have that one truck.

My current unsecured debt amounts to $59K, spread out to 10 different creditors. 2 accounts with American Express, 2 accounts with Chase Manhattan, Providian Bank, Bank of America, MBNA, Capital One, Household Bank and American General. The biggest is with MBNA ($23200).

First of all, should I file for bankruptcy?

Secondly, if I go for debt settlement, should I just hand it over to an agency or should I do it on my own? If I do it on my own, where do I start, what should I do, and what should I expect from each of those credit companies?

Any guidance is greatly appreciated. I would like to know what options are available, as I said, anything from bankruptcy or debt settlement or dmp?

Thank you in advance.

Hey, welcome aboard...and wow, not an easy question to answer.

IMHO, as you already stated, any of the "debt handler" kinds of company should be avoided. That includes both the "management" kind and the "settlement" kind. Neither does anything you can't do yourself and both will cost you money.