Desperately need a car!!

Hello everyone,

I graduated from college last Spring and have just now found a job. The job requires relocating at the begining of next month and I don't currenty have a car. Over the past 5 years, I have managed to ruin my credit by making many stupid decisions. I haven't pulled my reports yet but according to Equifax a few months ago, I have a $3,500 chargeoff from a couple years ago, another $500 collection, a $500 paid collection. Because I have only had a part time job recently, I also have a lot of late payments from the past few months including a late college loan payment. Besides my college loans, I do have a MBNA credit card still open but maxed and with a few late payments.

My question is are there any options for a person like me? My new job will offer $50,000 salary which is a lot more than I was making when I fell into debt. Also, my mom is willing to be a co-signer but I don't have much money to put down. Will anyone be willing to work with me on a loan? I plan on paying off everything I owe on my credit report once I have the money but I need a car now. I am willing to put up with a high interest loan if it will help my credit in the long run. I'd like to get a used car in the $6,000-$10,000 range (i'd prefer not buying a beater that will last ony a few months). Does anyone have any suggestions. Any help will be greatly appreciated.

IF you can find someone to give you a loan, you're going to pay interest rates thru the roof. I'm sorry, but your mother SHOULD NOT co-sign for you because what is likely to happen is they will put HER as the PRIMARY and you secondary simply because she has (assuming) far better credit than you do.