Help, CA did not validate and now on CR

HOOT

Hello to all-

I know this has been talked about before and I did read some posts, but thought since I am in FL and am not really sure about our laws, maybe someone could help. I have been doing credit repair now for two months and have made great progress. Until now.

I received a letter from Omni Services about a debt to Alltel for 674.00. Not mine. I sent them a validation letter within the 30 day timeframe and never heard from them. And there it is today when I pulled by TC report. What do I do now? Try to validate again or do I need to try to dispute with CRA. Thanks in advance!

How long ago did you send this? Did you send it certified? Do you have proof of when they received it? How old do they say this supposed debt is?

They aren't supposed to pursue ANY collection activity before validating or while the debt is in dispute. If they listed this account after they received your letter, they just blatantly broke the law. You can try re-DV'ing, but personally (if you have proof), I'd sue. I think that's a violation for each CRA they reported to? Experts, correct me if I'm wrong.

Grrr. That stuff makes me really angry. Get some advice from the pros here first; I'm not one. It just makes me livid that they did that to you.

Thanks Hinky!

The thing is and I am sure I will get ridiculed for this , but I received the letter on April 18, 2006 and I Dv on April 27th, yet I did not send certified :oops: Although who is reporting on my credit for this debt is not the same CA that sent letter. It is actually Alltel themselves and I never received anything from them. I was not far into the credit repair by then, but should have sent certified, but they are not the ones reporting. What now? Any help would be appreciated!