The future of mortgage rates?

Stainless_Steel

So what does everyone think is going to happen with mortage rates now considering if the feds raise rates in there next two meetings this year?

Doesn't mortgage rates go up and down by short term yield bonds or something like that? It seems like everytime the feds raised rates this year the mortgage rates have gone up. Since they paused this time mortgage rates have also. It seems like with the housing market not being so strong right now would effect it somehow.

I'm new to this and trying to learn as much as I can. I know that there is no way for anyone to predict what the economy is going to do, but please just give your opinion of what you think is going to happen. One minute I here they are not raising enough(inflation bla bla bla) and thet next I here they're raising too much(recession.....)

Its hard to gauge since the fed has less and less control over the long term bond prices anymore. The US has flooded the global markets w/ treasury notes in recent years to fund its deficits. What drives mortgage rates these days is more supply and demand of global investors willing to lock in their cash at the yields being offerred. The Fed can push the long term yields up by raising the short term yields (they control the overnight lending rate). Since investors strongly prefer locking money up for shorter times rather than longer (less risk of inflation eating into their yields), investors demand higher rates for the longer term bonds, and long term yields have to rise at least as much as short term bond yields to keep up demand. So the fed can "muscle" up the long term bond yield by forcing up the short term yields. Occasionally, short term yields rise higher than long term yields (inverted curve). This indicates that the market is betting that there will be a recession and the fed will lower rates in the near future.