"The right to contract shall be preserved"??

TwoCents

The Right to Contract...

Hello everyone…..My forum name is TwoCents.

I'm sorry to say that I have little to offer since I'm new to this subject its hard to take without giving but I am willing to learn and perhaps someone in the future can gain from my learning or experiences. I have read several posts here and find them quite interesting and it sounds like this group knows what they are talking about. I'm not familiar with how forums work so I hope I get this posted correctly.

Here's the situation I'm helping a friend [let's call her Sally] who has current medical problems and out of work. She has a credit card debt obligation with the original creditor/credit card. In the card agreement it says that she will be responsible to the original creditor for legal expenses and costs should they sue her or HIRE someone else to sue. Neither occurred but apparently the Original Creditor sold the debt to another party [Let's call him John]. Sally had an agreement with the Original Creditor however she has not signed any agreement/contract with John whom they sold the debt to.

Now I can understand if the Original Creditor needs capital for his company and John offers to buy the debt perhaps for less than the debts face value and I would assume a contract is signed by, the Original Creditor and John during the sale/purchase.

Sally signed an agreement with the Original Creditor. Who is Sally liable to OC or to John?

Can Sally's right to contract be dismissed by the Original Creditor and sell her debt over to John? What law gives him the right to do this? Does that law supercede the authority of the Constitution?