Been in collections for 6 years

dragun415

Hello

I am new here, but have read so much on the forums and learned alot.

My story and situation:

Since I was 18, I got my first. By 25 I had about 15-20 credit cards. As a freelancer my work began to slow down and I started living on the cards. At the same time making monthly payments. This was around 1995... I made monthly payments all the way to 2001 and none of my cards went down. The interest kept building...

Well anyway to the point. in end of 2001 I had enough and just stopped paying all cards. I got harrassed by collections constantly but would not pay. I lived off what I made paycheck to paycheck. It was rough.

well now its 2007 and my credit report is horrible. But I just realized by end of 2008, all the negative collections on my credit report will be gone... + they have all past the statutes of limitations.

If I continue to hold out til end of 2008, am I home free on these debt?

Thanks for any response or advice anyone can give me.