Tips for investment property owners?

TheDrewbert

I'm fairly new to the real estate investment business and would like to continue, but my credit is starting to get in the way.

I now have 3 apartment building + my personal residence. Here is the problem. I now also have 3 mortgages, 2 HELOCs, 5 accounts with the electric utility, 3 accounts with the gas utility, an auto loan for a used truck, and some credit card debt that accumulated while I was rehabbing the properties. Naturally, all the inquiries that accompany such transactions are there too.

Seven months prior to buying my first investment building, I formed both an LLC and LP. I've been told repeatedly by lendors and utility companies that I can't put credit items in the LLC or LP's name and they'd still show on my personal credit report anyway even if I did.

The goal here is to get all of the business mortgages/HELOCs, utilities, credit cards, and truck loan onto some sort of business credit report and off my personal credit.

I have one delinquent account with the gas utilities that I'm attempting to pay to delete. The error was purely clerical in nature and I thought the issue was already resolved <tenant didn't forward me the bill in time>. But I'm an honest man and pay my debts when they are my debts.

The LLC/LP will be two years old in May '07. I've had checking accounts in the LLC/LP's name since May '05.

Any help would be appreciated as I'd like to buy more building in the near future.

Thank you.

Drew

You certainly should talk this over with a local attorney (with that much property, you'll need one eventually), but...