What is the max they can do to us?

BeatingMS

Hello everyone - I am a newbie so please be patient and kind. :)++

In November 2005 my husband's job went to India along with the medical benefits. He had been there 10 years. I am on full disability from social security. He was out of work for seven months. That took up ALL of our savings, money market and 401k and we did the classic NO NO and got cash advances on the credit cards.

We kept everyone up to date until May when we went under Credit Solutions. We honestly thought this as the best way to go. We are over $30,000 in credit card debt.

Now here is my question to you experts:

As I understand it, the law stipulates that they cannot garnish wages in South Carolina and they cannot garnish Social Security checks. Can they still sue us and get judgement to freeze our bank account that has my SS check automatically deposited in it?

What if we just become jerks and not ever settle with them?

Hello BeatMS,

We also went with CreditSolutions. BIG MISTAKE!!! We did drop them and now here we are with nothing but trashed credit!!! I did turn them into the BBB and got a full refund. I am sorry for not being able to answer your question (I myself am fairly new to this also), but no one here thinks thinks your a jerk.

However, we as people, that are in this situation feel like losers. But, in the last couple of months I keep telling myself that this is the best we can do for right now and better days are to come.

You need to just read, read and read this forum to learn as much as possible.

Take Care,

Worried

Okay, well http://www.carreonandassociates.com/articles/collectionlaws.htm#South_Carolina

would seem to concur that you're safe from garnishment, but, as for grabbing your bank accounts, I'm pretty sure they can do that almost anywhere. It may not be 100% legal, and, if it happens, you could probably fight it, but of course that would be a big hassle and would probably cost you some money.