How did you pick your agent

unckbobby

Not sure if this is considered too off-topic, but how did you guys choose your real estate agent? I'm relatively new to my area, and it seems that everyone I ask refers me to his or her relative who is in real estate. Maybe I'm being to pessimistic, but I get leery when someone is soooooo enthusiastic about Aunt & Uncle Agent. Any and all feedback is greatly appreciated.

Admin & Mods and all... my apologies if this is posted in the wrong section. :wink:

It depends really.

I bought a new construction house and I had an agent.

With new construction agents are basically useless. There's nothing at all for them to do except sign a few papers and collect a fat check at closing.

Knowing that, I went a slightly different route. I still had an agent that did next to nothing for me, but she got a smallish check at closing (she still made a few grand for signing her name a few times) but I got a bigger check. I got a 2% rebate realtor. I used part of my 2% for closing costs and still got a check in the mail a few days after closing.

This is considered immoral by some (particularly new construction sales agents as it cuts into their commission) and is even possibly illegal in some states. In Texas it's perfectly legal and IMO perfectly moral. I went to closing with no money and walked away with cash in my pocket and a new house.

Now I don't know if I'd recommend this in all states (Texas real-estate is relatively simple so it works great here) and in all situations (new construction absolutely - older homes, probably not).

But if it's legal in your state and you're looking at new construction, this is definitely something to keep in mind.

Guest BadAccountant