PFD on very minor amount with Credit Union

FicoSchmico

Hello All,

This is my first post here and after reading around, I must say there is a gold mine of information here!

I was wondering if anyone had an idea as to "how" to go about requesting a PFD with a local credit union (CU). I made 2 local residence moves in the last 4 years and I thought I had closed the account (checking) but apparently it was still open and they closed it after it got REALLY old (> 3 yrs) with no activity and $16.00 overdrawn.

Again, I certainly would have paid this measly amount had I known. At this point, it's listed as "Closed, Charge-Off" on my CR.

This CU is local, I could drive over there or write a PFD letter. I was hoping for some pointers on how I should approach them as I'm just getting started in the credit repair odyssey. My credit isn't terrible (670) but I'd like it to be 750+ so I can buy a home for less than a credit card rate.

So, I guess my questions are - with owing them $16.00, should I:

- go see them in person? If so, what person should I talk to?

- write a letter? if so, addressed to what position in the CU?

- offer them $16.00 plus 8% interest on 4 years? LOL

My goal is to have it REMOVED ENTIRELY from my credit report.

Thanks in advance for any advice,

Phil

My sister is a loan officer and she mentioned (regarding one of her clients) that she could get her a decent loan for a FICO around 650. I'm not sure I'd worry about this idiotic charge off if I were you, count your blessings you don't have OTHER garbage on there. Besides, why wake a sleeping giant?

If you pay it without them agreeing (in writing) to remove their TL from your CR's you'll tank your score.