Summons was never served by Credigy and Associates

I am new at this so please forgive me if I am missing any vital information.

I just found out that Credigy and Associates filed a summons in kings county courts for an old debt that they purchased from another collection agency (not the original creditor). The SOL expired December 2000, however I just found out that they filed the summons in November 28th 2006 (SOL is 6 years in NY State). I was never served....I have sent credigy 2 Debt Validation letters before they filed last november, but they never responded. I also sent them another debt validation letter on February 7, 2007. Yesterday, I received a letter from Stewart and Associates (Clients for Credigy) stating "For a limited time during this tax season only, we have received authorization from our client to offer reduced settlements or exceptional payment arrangements". They still have not responded to the most recent debt validation letter.

Should I now debt validate Stewart & Associates? Should I go down to the courts and answer the summons, since I now know about it or is it too late, since they filed November 28th 2006? The summons was issued by an Attorney here in NY (I have never heard from this person). Should I also debt Validate the lawyer here in NY? Not quite sure what to do at this point.....Can I use the SOL expired defense, since I was never served because it is now beyond six years? or, should I use the 'need to see original contract with my signature' defense in court since I have sent them numerous validation letters. Any help will be appreciated!!