The Hippa letter...question

gypsie

At the risk of getting completely slammed by some

I would love to see a discussion on this topic....

It has been said and referenced in this forum that listing the name of a clinic which "may" give some indication as to a diagnosis is a violation of Hippa.

This is what I don't understand. Being a nurse, I know -just because a clinic has a medical terminology area in it's name, such as OBGYN or Nephrology or orthopedic, so on and so on..... doesn't give any clue as to an actual diagnosis. There are literally hundreds of diagnosis that can be guessed at falling under specific areas of medicene.

I mean, if a clinic's name is "Dr. Doe's clinic for LEEP procedures for positive testing of HPV"- then sure- I could understand the whole HIPPA violation. But what clinic is acutally going to give that much detail in a name.

Is there something that lists actual/specific medical words that are considered a violation of Hippa?

Seeing so much use of the "hippa" letters to CAs/OCs. Makes me think- eventually everything will be listed in codes and then if there happens to be a CA show up with a code rather than a name- then it will be much harder to figure out what the TL is

Any thoughts??? xheadscratchx

Arizona Cancer Center

Infectious Diseases Assoc of Brooklyn

Pro-Choice Medical Center

Here is a couple of things that might help on understanding why. All of these are actual places.

1. This person has cancer and we should hurry and sue before he dies and we cant get our money

2. This person has a disease of some sort, I don't want them renting one of my apartments

3. This person did something I don't agree with...I am not going to give them credit for a car/rent to them/I am going to harass them

Of course not centers have names like this, but they aren't going to make a law saying that names of places like these can't be on the report. However Dr. Bob the Family Physician can put their name on there.

Arizona Cancer Center