Lender fued

Aerovette

Ok, i have been shopping mortgage rates and have two contenders. Each one is telling me the other is full of crap. Instead of getting the best deal, I am having to decide who is being truthful and I lack the knowledge to do so.

Lender 1 - Tells me I do NOT qualify for an 80/20 but can do 100% financing at 6.125 with PMI at $136.00 month and closing costs rolled in so all I pay is prepaids on tax and hazard insurance.

Lender 2 says- 80/20 at 7.0% and 8.5%

Lender 1 says there is no way that rate on the 2nd mortgage is good and I will get a surprise at closing.

Lender 2 says PMI from Lender 1 looks like they are using a Fanny Mae "My Community" program and that my income prevents me from qualifying. Lender 2 says I will be in for a shock at closing.

I am LOST who do I believe? Do I seek out a tie breaker and take another hit from an inquiry to my score?

Hi - I'm a Loan Officer in New York. Needless to say every situation is different, out of 800+ loans under my belt. I have never done the same loan twice. My job is like playing a game of cards, where we analysis people's situations to get them a winning hand. Is this a purchase or refinance? What is the loan amount?

In your case, are you going to be living there the rest of your life? If so go with the lower fixed interest rate possible.. After one to two years, depending if your value raises (plus if you buy down your principle), your equity will grow to 20% (80% LTV). Then you call up the mortgage company and say my value has gone up. Pay for another appraisal, and the PMI is taken off. This will save you from refinancing again.