Where do I start

loose tooth

So, here I move up to credit repair. I have been late and settled several cc debts for dh and I. Now I need to work on credit repair.

I am new to this, so thank you for bearing w/ me.

My first question is I know I can dispute the lates. But...the lates are true. How does this work? I dispute by lying because I know I have been late, the CB checks it out w/ the creditor and the creditor responds. Are lates often removed because the creditor doesn't bother to respond to the disputes?

My lates and settlements are very new. How long should I wait before I dispute any lates? Also, I was told to work on the lates first and then work to get the reports to state paid in full instead of settled. Any suggestions?

There are two basic ways to dispute lates...

1. Dispute with the CRAs. You'd be hoping that the OC/CAs wouldn't respond. Seldom happens.

b. Send a goodwill letter to the OC/CA...saying "I really like you guys, golly, gee whiz, can't you help me out and remove the lates?". If you've paid them less than the full amount, not much chance they'll be receptive.

This is a very touchy subject you have brought up. No one is telling you to lie.

If the lates ARE IN FACT true and you want them to remain on your report, by all means leave them. There are ways, however, to try and get them removed. Dispute them, or have the OC remove them. If you dispute and the OC does not verify, you end up witha a delete. If you write a good will letter as mentioned by WIlling to Cope and the OC has a heart, you end up with a delete.