Discover problem trying to negotiate.

DMGacs

I have been fighting discover for almost 2+ years for fraudulent charges when my card was lost roughly 400+ dollars. They removed the charges issued me a new card and 3 months later transfered the fraudulent balance to my account without advising me or providing any proof of service. They said they found the charges accurate and refused to provide any proof of service or delivery confirmation for items or any service received. I simply stopped paying and now roughly two years later my debt went from $1100 to $6350.

I tried negotiating via phone and through the BBB. They simply stated the best they would do is $2800. I basically told them no and would pay no more then $1200 and they declined. Now my credit report shows.

$5380 with Bad debt & placed for collection & skip with charged off account. (2) of the agency's show as disputed one does not.

All in all they are reporting $5000 dollars in fees and interest and actually trying to collect $1600 in fees which I think is completely unfair.

Is there anything I can do? Really need help on this one.

My credit scores per the Experian True Plus site says

EXP 596 / EQ 600 / Trans 636

I currently am trying to refinance and have 10% APR on a 248,000.00 home loan which is killing me and I can't because of my poor credit score!

Here is a sample letter I created from cutting and pasting items from sample letters foudn on this site. Please advise opinions & or comments or if I should take a different approach.

POSTAL NUMBER:

April 15, 2007

Account Number: xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Dear Discover,