will settling with OC on a CO restart SOL??

sharizap

If I accept a settlement offer on an old, out of SOL CO still held by the OC, will paying the settlement amount restart the SOL or 7 year reporting time? I was under the impression that SOL is firm, based on the DOFD, or DOLA if there are payments (not settling/closing the account) after the DOFD. And, does the 7 year clock start over again after the account is settled? I thought, after reading the forums, that paying a settlement would NOT affect SOL or reporting time, but I've been advised in another thread that if I accept an offer (so that we can get a mortgage within a few months) that it will restart the 7 year reporting time. Is this true?

Here's the original thread: http://www.debt-consolidation-credit-repair-service.com/forums/showthread.php?t=268730

Thanks for any help.....

Why keep reposting same question? Read the want 0 replies stickies, we are all here in this community to help each other, I am not a lawyer or give legal advice, just my opinion based on your situation. If what I'm telling you is not what you want to hear you don't need to re post be patient someone else will chime in. Or use the search button it can be your friend!!

1.It's not the same question.

2. I have searched and keep finding different and conflicting answers- just looking for some clarification- hopefully from people who've been doing this a while longer.

3. I have also read the stickies. Thanks for the suggestion.

1.It's not the same question.

2. I have searched and keep finding different and conflicting answers- just looking for some clarification- hopefully from people who've been doing this a while longer.

3. I have also read the stickies. Thanks for the suggestion.