Can the state take my house?

Hello all,

I'm a newbie to the forum and have a question. I currently live in the house that my grandparent owned which when they both passed away went to my mother since she was their only legal child(she was adopted). She went through a process of having my grandmother's only living relative sign over her claim to the house on the advice of a lawyer. The deed was changed from my Grandmother's name to my mother's name for 1 lot only the other lot is still listed under my grandmother. Long story even longer... My mother has sinced passed away and I am her only child. She was on state Medicaid and had a lot of medical bills. I have not received any calls for collection at this time. I did notify all collectors and the medicaid office of her death and supplied a copy of the death certificate. My question is if I go thru the process of getting the property settled and the names corrected will this open the door for the state or any other creditors that I am not aware of to come in and force me to sell the house to pay the debts? Next question: any ideas on the best way to correct this problem?

Any help will be appreciated.

:confused:

Unfortunately, When your Mother signed up for assistance from Medicaid she also assigned her rights to property over to them.

Medicaid is a S L O W process. It will take them time to process the paperwork, possibly up to a year. Yes, they will require a sale of the property and take $xx.00 from it. Fortunately, they will take a settlement amount less than you think.

The names getting corrected may not necessarily matter in regard to any attempts to keep the State from forcing the sale. Your Mom told them of her assets, so they know. By most, if not all State laws you have to go through probate. Everything has to be disclosed there as well.