Need Help with AFNI Collection Agency

AFNI recently placed 3 collections for delinquent Verizon accounts on my fiancee's credit report (just when it was almost completely cleaned up). Needless to say it has drastically affected his credit score. ANFI purchased all 3 accounts, which are old 2002 or earlier, so I don't think there are any SOL issues. The worst part is that none of these accounts are his. He's never had an account with Verizon.

I spoke w/ Verizon today and they stated they don't have any info re: these accounts accept that they were sold to AFNI.

Okay....here's the issue (Pls be gentle...I'm a newbie:) ).

I've been reading info the various forums, but I'm still confused.

1. We never had the opportunity to request validation w/in 30 days of notification of debt b/c AFNI mailed the letter to the wrong address. I know this b/c I called them. Yes...I now know I should not have called them. I told AFNI this and they basically said so what, I waived my write to demand validation under the FDCPA b/c they never received the letter back marked "returned to sender".

2. Now that it is beyond the 30 day mark I learned here that we can still request validation, but AFNI can take as long as they want to validate or not respond at all.

3. I have learned here that the easiest way to get items deleted is to note violations. So, where does the potential violation come in AFTER my 30 day opportunity to demand validation has passed? Is it a violation if I request validation from AFNI at this late date (after 30 days has passed), and they don't respond to me but they provide verification to the CRAs, per my credit bureau disputes of the collections? Or, can AFNI ignore me and verify these collections to the CRAs as long as the accounts are updated as "disputed"?

I'm very confused on this point. It seems like I'm getting two different outcomes. I need to know what I can do AFTER 30 days. I'm pretty clear on what happens w/in the 1st 30 days under FDCPA ( I think).