sweeperlady

What to do with a collection letter not being reported to the CA???

Okay, I've been working on repair for 2 months now. Making some good progress thanks to ALL the great help, research, and advice I've gotten on CIC!!!

On 7/26 I get a Fed Ex note on my door that a delivery attempt was made and they'll be back the next day to attempt again and I have to sign in person. On 7/27 Fed Ex comes back and delivers, I sign my first initial and current surname (the package is for me with my maiden name which was changed 7 years ago btw). The Fed Ex man asks me my last name, which I tell him. He looks at the name on the package and sees that it is not the same last name and asks me if this is the right address though, I say yes. He leaves.

"Package" is a letter from Stewart & Associates as follows:

"Our Client: Credigy Receivables Inc.

Original Creditor: Chase

Current Account Number: XXXX-XXXX-XXXX-8109

Balance as of today: $1900.21

As our previous correspondence to you has indicated, your past-due accoutn has been referred to our office for handling. Despite our prior effort to resolve your past-due debt amicably, we have no indication that you intend to honor and repay your outstanding obligation. We hope that you will arrange payment of this debt. However, if you fail to do so, our client intends to enforce your outstanding obligation in court.

Although no attorney has reviewed your specific account to date and no suit has yet been filed against you, please be advised that if you do not contact us and arrange a repayment plan acceptable to us withint ten (10) days of delivery of this letter, we have been authorized by our client to refer this matter to an attorney licensed in your state for the filing of a lawsuit against you.