Should I DV the CA?

confusedaboutcredit

Hi everyone,

This is my first post, I've been reading as much of the forum as I can am amazed by the wealth of knowledge here. I'm a newbie and need help with this situation:

On 8/29 I got a letter from a CA telling me that my Wamu acct was "referred" to them for collection. I owe ~$5200 on the Wamu acct, this is the first contact the CA has made with me bc I was maxed out but paying before but had no work for the summer and got too far behind I guess.

My question is: should I send them a DV or not? I know I have 30 days (now about 10 days to DV them) I want to pay the OC but I can't really do it for another month. I don't want a Collections Acct on my CR if I can avoid it. I'm worried that bc it is 5K+ they may get angry and sue me soon and then I'll be really screwed.

Please help! Any advice greatly appreciated!

Thanks for the reply, razr!

Since the Collection Acct hasn't been posted to my CR yet (I don't believe), there is nothing to do with the CRA at this time, right?

I hope this doesn't sound like a stupid question; I was thinking of the flowchart where it says you should send letters to both simultaneously, but here I don't believe the big 3 have it posted yet.

Thanks!

-Confused

Right, just send a DV letter to the CA. Don't use a form letter, just send something short and sweet;

RE: Acc# 3456789101112

Dear Mr. Collector,

I received your dunning letter dated 9-10-07. Pursuant to the Fair Debt Collection Practices Act, your claim is disputed, validation is required.

You might want to put something in there about not accepting phone calls too.

-r

Hi everyone,

This is my first post, I've been reading as much of the forum as I can am amazed by the wealth of knowledge here. I'm a newbie and need help with this situation: