Third Pary collection want's to deal---Do I or Don't I???

chewba1

Hi sorry I am still learning as much as I can from this site. I have a charge off (listed on cr as charge off , transferred to another). In one week I have been contacted by Two different ca's for this acct. OC won't work with me said to contact 1st ca. Second CA is a third party ca and wants to offer me a lower payoff. Question::: Should I go with third party will it help, hurt, or do nothing at all to improve charge off on my cr??? Will it still be considered a paid charge off??? Any help would be greatly appreciated. Exhausted sticky's trying to get the right answer but brain is fogged.

You need to be absolutely clear you know who the players are:

The OC's tradeline on your reports should read "sold to another lender" and their balance should be set to $0. If it says anything else, then the OC has just "assigned" a collector to hassle you.

If the balance is $0, then they have indeed taken a "charge off against income for tax purposes" on their P&L statement, and have sold the right to hassle you to a junk debt buyer. A JDB is different than just another collection agency. A JDB may contract with (or be affiliated with) a CA...who could be the one hassling you now.

However, I would never willing pay a JDB (or a CA working for them) anything. FIrst, it will not change the OC's TL on your reports. Second, they paid pennies on the dollar for this debt. The probably bought it in bulk, and have little or no documentation to prove they have the right person. If you do decide to pay somebody over this, DO NOT send any money until you have proof in writing that they have the right person, the right account, the right amount, and the right to collect in your state. Also stipulate that they will not sell the balance of the debt...