mackguyver

28/36 Rule and the Mortgage Market

My wife and I are hoping to buy our first home in the next 3 months and the 28/36 rule is rearing it's ugly head. I have an MBA and my wife is a lawyer, so we make good money, but we have over $1500 in student loans which is knocking almost $250k off of how much house we can afford using the 28/36 rule. We're currently renting a nice house and making a fairly hefty rent payment which pushes our ratio to something like 15/50.

I have read that lenders are willing to go outside the ratio, but my scores are in the high 600s (filed Chpt. 7 in 2001 - but perfect credit since then) and with the whole subprime mess, I wonder if anybody would even be willing to make this work.

Has anyone worked outside the 28/36 rule recently or does anyone know if lenders will still do this, especially for someone below a 700 FICO?

Debt ratios in excess of 28/36 get approved all of the time through automated underwriting, and even up to a 65% debt ratio still gets qualified today. Your BK will have minimal impact unless you are going for a Jumbo loan amount. If you care to share details about your situation, including income, reserves/assets, required monthly minimum payments, and anticipated sales price/down payment, the mortgage pro's here can give you specific advice to your situation.

mackguyver - (cool name)

You have alot of options - being that your BR is over three years old, you could look at an FHA loan. The DTI (debt to income) ratio is 43%. This is a full doc loan, insured by the government.

The benefits are a lower interest rate, low required down payment (3% down), and the PMI is only .05% yearly.

With these types of loans, you can only go up to a loan limit for your county. See link for Florida https://entp.hud.gov/idapp/html/hicost1.cfm