Rental Car Collections - won't go away, insurance won't help, don't know what to do!

vintage14

Hi

I'm very new at this - I've never dealt with collections before. In November 2005 I was in a car accident in NJ where I hit someone in a rental car. The accident was my fault - I was fully insured by Allstate and Allstate paid damage claims for accident.

In fall of 2006, I began receiving collections letters from a claims management company for the rental car company claiming that two claims for loss of use and diminished value had not been paid by Allstate and that if they were not paid soon, I would be responsible. I contacted Allstate who told me that they would deal with this, that those claims had not been paid because that were not properly substantiated and the company was just trying to get more money. A month or so later, I got a notice that Allstate had not paid and I was responsible and that if I did not pay the claim would be referred to a collection agency. I told them to sue me - if they sued me then Allstate would have to defend me and pay any damages. They refuse to sue and only will go through collections & affect my credit. I sent several letters to the claims agency and Allstate disputing the debt and asking for validation. Allstate wrote a letter to the claims agency asseting that they should stop contacting me and any claims have to go through them because I was fully insured. The claims agency sent a verification which was basically a form written up by their company, dated this past spring when I asked for the validation, just outlining the amounts they claimed due - no real proof. In fact, the amounts their claiming have changed with each demand letter they send - sometimes its 30 days lost use, sometimes 15, sometimes its $1,700 in diminished value, sometimes it $1,900. I responded that they should not deal with me and should only deal with Allstate. I haven't heard anything since May, my credit report is clean, and I thought this went away.