SOL: Which state - where I live or credit card issued??? Just threatened w/a lawsuit

joephilly

Hello all,

I am a newbie to the forum. I may consult attorney's I found on www.naca.com but before I do that, please if you can offer me any advice, I'd be in your debt (no pun intended). I recently hired Lexington Law (which may have been a mistake) to help dispute some negative items, specifically, an old "charge-off", and a consequent collection since 2001 or so. If you don't have time to read this I need to know if they can use the NJ SOL (where the debt originated/credit card), or the CA SOL (where I live now). And did I "reset the SOL clock" in 3/02 when I lived in PA where I made a payment or two? Finally, is this a credit contract issue (which I read generally goes under the state where the debtor lives) or a written contract issue? Today's phone msg. from the CA was about a lawsuit. Maybe the SOL (as NJ) is 5 years 7 months in and almost up and that's why they called? Or they see that I have a job and luckily financed a car? But if I can use the CA SOL then I'm fine and I can beat them? Here are the details: