What if I refuse to sign for the arbitration notice?

bubbaboo

I am pretty sure that an arbitration notice is headed to me soon. The CA/law firm usually sends it FedEx or USPS and requires a signature on delivery. I have been advised to refuse to sign for it. That will not be a problem because I am not home during the day and I can just ignore the notice that they put on my door to come in and sign for it.

It will be NAF arbitration. What happens if I never pick up the package? Can they still go forward? Anyone have any experience?

I have no personal experience with this but I would suggest that your acceptance of the notice won't make any real difference at all.

It's likely that all they have to show is that they made a reasonable attempt to notify you and will then be able to move forward whether you accepted the notice or not.

Read CarolinaBlueEyes posts on the NAF and RecoveringAttorney's.

I'm pretty sure that by signing for it, you accepting the arbitration...and they can'r proceed (according to their own rules) until you're notified. Accepting the notification, and then refusing doesn't work because its the NAF that decides whether to proceed.

They will just claim they served you, when they didn't.

Immediately file;

1.) AN OBJECTION TO ARBITRATION

2.) Motion to dimiss for failure to state a claim

3.) Answer and counter claim

4.) Demand for production of documents

5.) Admit and deny interrogatories for Claimant

See "master of refusal" arbitration sticky to start.

[B]ALWAYS, ALWAYS DEMAND AN IN-PERSON HEARING IN YOUR FEDERAL JUDICIAL DISTRICT IN YOUR HOMETOWN COMMUNITY ROOM for every motion and hearing!!!!

ALWAYS DEMAND A JURY TRIAL WITH NAF UNDER YOUR STATE LAW FOR ANY CIVIL DISPUTE!

Get NAF to admit denying your due process right to a jury without a valid waiver of such right (need your signature to do it, make them produce it.)! (Will make a good appeal later for denial of your due process on their attempt to confirm any award.)