Have I been served?

I'm a newbie to this site but have discovered some really great information. I owned a franchise under a Limited Liability Corporation. My franchisor, and it's corporate parent went Chapter 7. I am being contacted by a law firm attempting to collect over $23,000 in receivables. My LLC and business was in Massachusetts but I now live in Florida. The business ceased operating in June 2006. The claims are for a period from late 2005 through mid 2006.

I was pretty sure I did not owe that money, so I ignored any collection calls. Last week, a server came to the house asking for me. He spoke to my roommate who refused to accept the summons. The summons was left on the front steps. I purposefully never looked at, let alone touch the summons.

I called the law firm the following day and spoke with an employee. He e-mailed a statement of account and a personal guaranty signed by me. He stated that he had no other information. When he asked if I had been served with a summons I replied that I had not seen or received anything.

I researched my records and feel that, in effect, I actually overpaid this vendor by $2,800. The DC is missing credits, credit balances, and payments previously made.

The personal guaranty has the wrong corporate entity, so I feel that it can not be applied in this case. I sent an e-mail response to the DC stating facts and indicating that I do not feel I owe this creditor anything.

Does leaving the summons on my doorstep constitute service? If so, can the law firm who sued me withdraw the summons? Would I be better off responding to the summons and requesting a hearing? I have some pretty good records, but I do not want to turn over all of the records to the DC (why should I do their work for them?). Can I file a counter suit against the DC? Do I have any prayer of collecting my overpayment to this vendor who went Chapter 7 and went into permanent receivership? Can I recover court costs and legal fees from the DC?