case is going to court in march

rivergone

I am new to this, I just want to ask what my defense is if any. My husband got served a complaint for district court by mail on an old credit card from a law office acting as lawers of citibank. It was sent to our address back in october and he replied to the complaint to the court and sent back a copy to the law firm as instructed by the court. He had been in negotiations with the law firm to settle and asked them to provide a copy of the contract with the credit card companythey only sent copies of the monthly statements, but no contract. On the advice from a lawyer he responded to the complaint, admitting to applying for the credit card, and admitting that CreditOne LLC now owned the contract, basically because their name was on the complaint. He denied that the amount owed was correct because he was in negotiations with the law firm. Last activity on account was on July 03. We live in NM. Statute of limitations in NM is 4 years on a verbal agreement. Card was applied for over the phone. Does the statute apply? Anybody have any info for a defense?