Trying to settle collection accounts; Need advice and guidance

exploited

Hello everyone.

I recently came across this forum, and after spending considerable time reading everything on here, decided to seek some advice about my own debt matters.

I have about $25k of debt spread over 3 main credit cards. It is mostly due to losing employment a couple years ago, and I am just beginning to come back to terms, and have already repaid a few cards after they went to collections.

Here's my debt as of now:

1. Bank of America/MBNA - $8,262 (Delinquent since 02/06, charged off) - I called up BoA yesterday, and they said that the account was closed at their end, and had been purchased by NCO. I would have to work with NCO to pay it off.

2. Chase - $7,575 (Delinquent since 06/06, charged off) - This account was seemingly purchased by MRS Associates, although neither NCO, nor MRS show up on my credit report. I called and worked out a 50% settlement with MRS that should be paid off by the middle of next month. I asked the rep about taking it off my credit report, and she said that they would mark it as settled, but I could call up the 3 reporting agencies and have them remove it. Is this true?

3. Chase - $8,362 (Delinquent since 06/06, charged off) - This one has probably been purchased by FMA Alliance. I haven't gotten around to trying to settle this, but wish to work out something like the account above the next month or so.

Now, my question is, am I doing this well? I know most people on here recommend never talking on the phone, and starting by disputing, but I wasn't confident about it, especially since all these accounts have been charged off already, and none of the collection agencies show up in my credit report. I did, however, get calls from them.