How can I find out who has the collection?

iolakana

Hello everyone. This is my very first time posting something like this so please excuse me if I don't sound right. I have a very big problem. I had hired a lawyer to help with my debt settlements & recently found out that he has had his license suspended, meanwhile no notice to me & kept accepting my settlement funds to put into settlement trust account-currently $7900. My question is how do I find out who has control of the collection on each credit card. The lawyer has my current file & I have no contact with office- I have sent many requests for my file. I do not want to file bankruptcy but the lawyer has taken what I had & I need to find out if any of the collections offices will settle with me direct or will need to file bankruptcy. I'm sorry to ramble but am so upset. I thought I was doing the correct thing by trying to use a lawyer. Please help me if you can. Thank you for your time.

Hello everyone. This is my very first time posting something like this so please excuse me if I don't sound right. I have a very big problem. I had hired a lawyer to help with my debt settlements & recently found out that he has had his license suspended, meanwhile no notice to me & kept accepting my settlement funds to put into settlement trust account-currently $7900. My question is how do I find out who has control of the collection on each credit card. The lawyer has my current file & I have no contact with office- I have sent many requests for my file. I do not want to file bankruptcy but the lawyer has taken what I had & I need to find out if any of the collections offices will settle with me direct or will need to file bankruptcy. I'm sorry to ramble but am so upset. I thought I was doing the correct thing by trying to use a lawyer. Please help me if you can. Thank you for your time.

I would say call the CC company. They could tell you who's handling the account.