WaMu actually screwed up

scorch

So I've been banking with Washington Mutual for about two years. Just recently I deposited a check and $20 cash at an ATM. Well after looking at my recent transactions online, I saw that the amount of my deposited paycheck was deducted from my account as a "KEY IN ERROR". Meaning I keyed in the wrong amount at the ATM. So obviously it looks as though WaMu lost my paycheck.

Now WaMu is a good bank. They are typically friendly so I hope they find the check and reverse the overdraft charges against me.

I know that everyone screws up, I'm just concerned about looking like a douche bag because I can't pay my rent due to insufficient funds.

I think you should charge them a fee. 39.00 is standard when you screw up.

You're saying I should charge WaMu for losing my pay check?? I'm sure I had it in the atm deposit envelope, unless I forgot to sign it or dropped it somewhere or accidentally threw it away...

So How would I go about charging WaMu the 39 dollars?

I don't think Puck was being serious. It sounds like you are not really sure if you actually put your check in the envelope. In any case, contact the bank to see if you can get this worked out. Finding the money is more important than getting back at WaMu.

Oh I'm sure I had it in the envelope... I just can't believe it got lost in the atm..

A good bank? WaMu? Um, okay. I wouldn't put one penny in the care of WaMu. But I generally despise all banks, so maybe I'm not the best person to comment. WaMu can't even manage its own finances. What makes you think they will take any better care of your money?

when you make a check deposit at an ATM, you are "signing/indorsing" the check with the 4-digit PIN. This is regardless of how the check was actually endorsed, or whether ownership of the check was transferred, etc.

Therefore, to deposit a check through an ATM, the check has to be:

A. Endorsed by the same person as whose name is on the card